top of page
  • Writer's pictureBex

BOOK CLUB: MARCH PICKS

Recently, I've been getting more and more into character studies rather than actual stories of fiction. These are 4 of my favourites, looking at women and our relationships with ourselves and others.


TARA WESTOVER - EDUCATED

I haven’t been as obsessed with a book since I read You- Caroline Kepnes last year. I could not put this down, literally keeping me awake at night. It’s brilliant.

It’s the memoir of Tara Westover, a girl who grew up in a Mormon family in Idaho and wasn’t even registered as being alive until she was 9. She documents her life and all the truly unbelievable things that happened to her and her family when growing up and being torn between loyalty to that family but also the yearning for something more. Which, put simply was an education.

It’s a fascinating read, really harrowing at times, but altogether so interesting. Plus Westover’s writing is so addictive you can’t not read chapter and chapter until it’s 2am.

Big shout here, but I think it’s one of the best novels I’ve ever read. Pick it up immediately!


GAIL HONEYMOON - ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPLETELY FINE

I'm actually playing catch up with this post as I read this back in 2018. I think it was my favourite book of that year, and definitely one of my faves of all time. Big shout I know. This was the first book I read that is a character study (like Sally Rooney's or Holly Bourne's), rather than has a huge plot line and I was blown away. You can't not help but fall for Oliphant's charm and immediately you're rooting for her. She's an oddball for sure, but the story is so sweet, it really warms the heart. Honeymoon's writing is so lovely yet complex that I have big expectations if she ever releases something new.

I cannot stress this enough, but everyone should read this book. It will make you a nicer person, honest.


DAWN O'PORTER - THE COWS

This book is brilliant. End of.


I’ve always loved Dawn O’Porter’s writing so I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to read this novel. Tracking the lives of 3 women who become interlinked, The Cows focuses on female relationships with each other, families, men, the world and themselves. It’s so beautifully written, funny but poignant with a great plot line. You can’t help but feel and support all the actions the 3 women take and their decisions for doing so.

Definitely add this to your read list. It’s empowering, thoughtful and really makes you want to be a better person. Seriously.


SALLY ROONEY - NORMAL PEOPLE

Becoming a cult phenomenon seemingly overnight, Sally Rooney’s novels are big news RN. Her second, Normal People was a firm favourite with me, much more so than Conversations With Friends. I loved it and thought it was such an interesting character study.

Normal People traces two people’s lives that ordinarily wouldn’t have collided but become interwoven in high school via their social circles and decisions. It’s easy to become invested in the characters and although there’s no real plot you constantly want to know what’s going to happen. Sounds heavy but stick with it.


All content and imagery from @thegoodbookclub_

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page