top of page
  • Writer's pictureBex

BOOK CLUB: APRIL PICKS

Given the state of the world currently, we all need a little escapism. These are some of my favourite stories to get lost into when you need a break from reality.


JOHN MARRS - WHEN YOU DISAPPEARED

I wasn’t familiar with John Marrs work prior to this novel and now it’s my aim to read everything he’s written. This was by far one of the best books I’ve ever read. Following the tale of a wife who’s husband disappeared over 20 years ago, her world is turned upside down when he reappears at her door. Told from both points of view (this husband and wife) from present day and the day of the disappearance, there’s twists and turns you don’t see coming and fast paced drama making it a brilliant thriller of a different kind. Surprised this hasn’t been turned into a film/tv programme yet!



CELESTE NG - LITTLE FIRES EVERYWHERE

This was a slow burner for me, at first I found it hard to get into it, but once it got going I was hooked. It’s so beautifully written; descriptive and in depth without being distracting from the story line. If anything, the plot almost felt secondary from the character study of the main protagonists, which I thought was excellently done.


The story follows two families, one rich and one poor, and how their lives entwine then ultimately get torn apart following a divisive scandal in the town. It focuses massively on mother-children relationships and how having the perfect life isn’t always what’s best/ cracked up to be.

By far, one of my favourite books of this year, definitely get this on your book lists!


OYINKAN BRAITHWAITE - MY SISTER, THE SERIAL KILLER

I’ve been so excited to read this for so long, and while it was excellent, I think I’d overhyped it in my anticipation and expected something else. (Don’t let that put you off though!) The story is centred around Korede and her sister, Ayoola, who has a tendency to murder all her boyfriends. Ayoola begins to date the man of Korede’s affections, and leaves Korede wondering if he will meet a similar fate, and who’s side she should be on in that eventuality.

It’s a brilliant little read focussing on jealousy, loyalty and feminism, plus the chapters are tiny and the writing is so well written you can fly through the whole thing in a few days. It’s addictive for sure, deffo pick this one up!



SARAH VAUGHAN - ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL

Picked this up in a charity shop for 50p after having it on my list for a long time and it didn’t disappoint.


The synopsis is simple, a government minister’s affair with a colleague gets leaked to the press and subsequently follows the fall out as told by his wife and a prosecuting lawyer. However, there are SO many twists and turns, I couldn’t put it down. It’s hard to discuss without giving away too much, but it’s one of the best books I’ve read in a while. The story is very relevant in the current #MeTooclimate too, which made it all the more an enticing read. It’s addictive, fast paced, well written and a truly brilliant read!


All content and imagery from @thegoodbookclub_

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page